SDE: Apply Connecticut State Department of Education SDE: Apply
Hartford Regional School Choice Office




{Regional School Choice logo} The RSCO lottery application period opens on November 1, 2017, and closes on February 28, 2018. You need a valid email account to apply.

Applications are accepted online only, no later than February 28, 2018 at midnight.

RSCO lottery applications that are complete and submitted on time will be entered into the RSCO lottery. After a successful submitted application you will receive an e-mail confirmation.


The RSCO lottery includes the Hartford Region Open Choice Program and approximately 45 interdistrict magnet schools. Students who reside in Connecticut at the time of application are eligible to apply. A Connecticut address (not a P.O. Box) is required to complete the RSCO lottery application.

Transportation is provided to students living within the RSCO Transportation zone. 

Families with students who do not live within RSCO’s Transportation Zone may either:

  • transport the student themselves to and from school, and then request a stipend from the the CREC Transportation Office. The stipend will be paid at the end of the school year based on the child’s school attendance;
  • or transport the student to the closest available bus stop located within RSCO’s Transportation Zone (there is no stipend offered for this option).

How To

Applications to RSCO magnet schools and the Open Choice program open Nov. 1, 2017. If you need access to a computer, visit RSCO’s Parent Information Center, a Hartford Public Library branch, a satellite site in Hartford or your local library. Only one RSCO lottery application per child is accepted.


Parent Information Center

Connecticut State Department of Education
Regional School Choice Office (RSCO)
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite P28
Hartford, CT 06103-1841
Phone: 860-713-6990


Content Last Modified on 10/19/2017 1:04:15 PM