SDE: Mastery Examination Committee

Mastery Examination Committee

Public Act No. 15-238, An Act Concerning Students Assessments, established the Mastery Examination Committee within the Department of Education. The law requires the committee to examine the impact, administration, appropriateness, and other aspects of the statewide mastery exam in Connecticut.

The committee submitted an interim report on its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly's Education Committee by February 15, 2016. The final report was filed January 10, 2017.

Read the full Mastery Examination Committee governing statute.

Meetings and agendas (all PDFs)


Committee Members

  • Commissioner Dianna R. Wentzell, Chair
  • Jim Accomando
  • Dr. Joseph Cirasuolo
  • Patti Fusco
  • Ted Goerner
  • Ajit Gopalakrishnan
  • Kathy Greider
  • Dr. Stephen Hegedus
  • Cathy Hill
  • Kathleen Kennedy
  • Abe Krisst
  • Ed Leavy
  • Patrice McCarthy
  • Richard Murray
  • Dr. Karissa Niehoff
  • Arthur Poole
  • Don Romoser
  • Allan Taylor
  • Jeffrey Villar
  • Don Williams
  • Stephen Wright


Laura J. Stefon
Legislative Liaison
Connecticut State Department of Education

Content Last Modified on 1/12/2017 11:46:54 AM