SDE: Independent Educational Evaluations (IEEs) Task Force, Observation and Related Matters Connecticut State Department of Education SDE: Independent Educational Evaluations (IEEs) Task Force, Observation and Related Matters

Independent Educational Evaluations (IEEs) Task Force, Observation and Related Matters

On February 1, 2017, the Connecticut State Board of Education (Board) established the Connecticut State Board of Education Task Force on the Implementation of IEEs, Observation and Related Matters (task force). The task force was established to review issues raised by a “Request for Amendment of Regulation” (Petition) filed pursuant to Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies (Connecticut Regulations) Section 10-76d-9. The Petition sought to have the Board amend Section 10-76d-9 of the Connecticut Regulations to: (a) establish requirements concerning IEEs requested by parents from boards of education in connection with the development of individualized education programs under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act, and (b) establish guidelines for the observation of students in school by parents and consultants.
The task force is composed of stakeholders representing various constituencies affected by the subject matter of the Petition and other appropriate parties as determined by the Commissioner of Education. The task force is charged with providing a report containing its findings and recommendations to the Board within 180 days.

(all documents are pdf unless noted)
Upcoming Meetings 
  • June 29, 2017
Meeting Agendas and Minutes
IEE Task Force Members
Janet Robinson, CAPPS/Superintendent   
Kathie Gabrielson, ConCase/Sped Director
Andrea Leonardi, Special Ed Director
Ann Gruenberg, CABE/President 
Patrice McCarthy, CABE 
Tim Connellan, CAPPS/Superintendent 
Christine Carver, CAPPS/Superintendent 
Peter Maher, Special Ed Attorney 
Andrew Feinstein, Special Ed Attorney/Parent 
Ann Smith, Parent Advocacy/AFCAMP 
Sean Cronin, Parent Advocacy/OFC
John Flanders,  C-PAC OSEP PTI 
Siobhan Peng, Special Ed State Advisory Committee 
Kathleen Jones, Parent
Jonathan Metcalf, Parent
Margarita Vargas-Torres, Parent 
Isabelina Rodriguez, CSDE
Gail Mangs, CSDE
Don Briere, CSDE 
Wendy Simmons, other/SERC
Lou Todisco, CSDE Legal Counsel 
Esther Bobowick, other/Facilitator 

Don Briere
Education Consultant
Gail Mangs
Education Consultant
Regina Gaunichaux
Terry-Jo Wright
Esther Babowick

Content Last Modified on 6/22/2017 3:00:20 PM