SDE: Connecticut Mastery Test

{Connecticut Mastery Test}

Prior to 2015, the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) was the standard assessment administered to students in Grades 3 through 8. Students were assessed in the content areas of reading, mathematics, and writing. Students in Grades 5 and 8 continue to be assessed on the CMT Science. Reports of individual student achievement relative to performance standards in each of these content areas are provided to the school districts and parents/guardians of each student tested. The CMT provides information about achievement that is used for many purposes including:

  • setting high expectations and standards for student achievement;
  • testing a comprehensive range of academic skills;
  • disseminating useful test achievement information about students, schools and districts;
  • identifying students in need of intervention;
  • assessing equitable educational opportunities; and
  • monitoring student progress in Grades 3 through 8 over time.


Connecticut Mastery Test Contact:
Telephone: 860-713-6890

Content Last Modified on 2/4/2016 11:35:46 AM