SDE: SDE Teen Dating Violence



Preventing Teen Dating Violence and Promoting Healthy Relationships

{Picture of Teens Smiling}

According to the 2013 Connecticut School Health Survey (CSHS), one in four teens experienced dating abuse. Results from the 2013 CHSH Survey indicate that in the past year approximately:

  • 26 percent of Connecticut high school students have been in a verbally or emotionally abusive dating relationship;
  • 9 percent in a physically abusive dating relationship; and
  • 11 percent in a sexually abusive relationship.

Connecticut General Statute (C.G.S.) Section 10-220a requires each local or regional board of education to provide in-service training programs for its teachers, administrators, and pupil personnel on teen dating violence and domestic violence programs. This webpage provides resources and technical assistance to support schools in meeting the statutory requirements, and helps educators and others find information to support the development of healthy and safe relationships.

  • Crisis Hotline
    • Connecticut Statewide Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-888-774-2900
    • National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233)
  • Connecticut 2-1-1 (United Way of Connecticut)
    Dial 2-1-1,a toll-free number throughout Connecticut, to reach knowledgeable, multilingual staff and get information, referrals or seek help in a crisis, including teen dating violence.
  • Fact Sheet: Preventing Teen Dating Violence & Promoting Healthy Relationships (PDF)
Resources
Legislation
  • C.G.S. Section 10-16b: Prescribed Courses of Study in Public Schools: Health and Safety Education
    Requires school districts to offer health and safety education in Grades K-12 in a planned, ongoing and systematic fashion as taught by legally qualified teachers and include, at a minimum: health and safety including but not limited to human growth and development, nutrition, first aid, disease prevention, community and consumer health, physical, mental and emotional health, including youth suicide prevention, substance abuse prevention, safety, which may include the dangers of gang membership, and accident prevention.
  • C.G.S. Section 10-220a: Requiring School-based Professional Development
    Effective July 1, 2010, C.G.S. 10-220a was amended to require each local or regional board of education to provide in-service training programs for its teachers, administrators and pupil personnel on teen dating violence and domestic violence programs. This legislation directs the State Board of Education, within available appropriations and utilizing available materials, to assist and encourage local and regional boards of education to include domestic violence and teen dating violence as part of in-service training programs.
  • C.G.S. Section 10-222: Promoting a Safe and Healthy School Climate
    Section 10-222g Section 10-222d Section 10-222h
    Effective July 1, 2011, legislation was enacted that strengthens bullying laws in Connecticut schools. Several state statues hold schools responsible for providing a healthy and safe learning environment for all students. Some requirements of this legislation include developing a school climate plan, adopting research-based prevention and intervention strategies, and identifying a school climate coordinator.
CONTACT:  Kimberly Traverso at kimberly.traverso@ct.gov or 860-807-2057
Connecticut State Department of Education
Bureau of Health, Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 504
Hartford, CT 06103-1841




Content Last Modified on 8/22/2017 2:56:03 PM