SDE: Regional School Choice Office Connecticut State Department of Education SDE: Regional School Choice Office

Regional School Choice Office (RSCO)


Connecticut’s State Department of Education (CSDE) created the Regional School Choice Office (RSCO) in partnership with operator districts to conduct the Open Choice and magnet school lottery process in response to the Sheff v. O’Neil case (Milo Sheff, et al. v. William O’Neill, et al) and the decision in 1997. RSCO supports the lottery and assists families interested in learning about how to apply for RSCO magnet schools and programs.

{Apply Now}

How To

  • Apply to a RSCO School: The RSCO lottery application period opens on November 1, 2017, and closes on February 28, 2018.

{School choice fair from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. on January 27, 2018, at Conard High School in West Hartford, CT. }

En Español


2018-19 RSCO CATALOG: English  Español
Contents include:

  • Lottery policies, guidelines and FAQ's
  • School pathways and preferences
  • Open Choice Program district and school descriptions
  • Interdistrict magnet school descriptions

Related Resources


Tuition for preschool programs

Sheff v. O’Neill Stipulation and Proposed Order, Phase III


Parent Information Center
Connecticut State Department of Education
Regional School Choice Office (RSCO)
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite P28
Hartford, CT 06103-1841
Phone: 860-713-6990


Content Last Modified on 1/16/2018 10:42:43 AM