
For further information, contact:
Connecticut State Department of Education

25 Industrial Park Road
Middletown, CT 06457

Telephone: (860) 807-2051 
Fax: (860) 807-2062 

Website: Http://ct.gov/sde

Here are some reasons why a child should 
attend kindergarten:

q Kindergarten instruction promotes 
learning of many skills that are the 
foundation of the curriculum through 
Grade 12. For example, early reading 
instruction is especially important to all 
learners. 

q If a child is an English Language 
Learner, there is support in kindergarten 
programs to help the child learn English 
at an early age.

q A problem that may affect a child’s 
ability to learn can be identified in 
kindergarten. An age-eligible child who 
is attending kindergarten will have 
that problem identified and will receive 
appropriate services. The earlier the 
problem is identified, the sooner the 
child can receive special services that 
may help overcome the problem and 
improve his or her ability to achieve 
throughout the school years.

q According to research, keeping an age-
eligible child out of kindergarten does 
not result in any long-term benefits.
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Kindergarten Entry, Enrollment and Attendance

As children approach kindergarten age, parents 
often raise various questions about kindergarten 
entry, enrollment and attendance. This brochure 

answers some frequently asked questions.

Q: At what age can my child enter kindergarten?

A: If your child is 5 years old on or before the first of 
January of any year, he or she can enter kindergarten. 
Connecticut law requires public schools to be open to all 
children who reach the age of 5 on or before the first of 
January of any school year.  [C.G.S.* Sec. 10-15c]

Q: If my child is not 5 years old until after the first of 
January of the school year, can he or she still enter 
kindergarten?

A: It is the local Board of Education’s decision to admit 
your child before he or she is age-eligible for kindergarten.  
[C.G.S. Sec. 10-15c]

Q: If my child is 5 on or before the first of January of the 
school year, do I have to send my child to kindergarten?

A: Parents of a child who is 5 years of age have the option 
not to send their child to school until the child is 6 or 7 years 
of age. If they choose not to send their child when the child is 
age-eligible, they must go to the school district office and sign 
an option form.  [C.G.S. Sec. 10-184]

Q: Does my child have to be tested in order to enter 
kindergarten?

A: There is no state law that requires public schools to test 
children before they enter kindergarten in the public schools. 
Any testing that is done at kindergarten entry is a local school 
district’s decision. It is important to know that your child 
cannot be excluded from school when he or she is age-eligible 
regardless of the results of any test given by the school.

Q: How long is the school year for kindergarten 
children? 

A: Public schools must provide half-day kindergarten 
programs for at least 180 days for 450 hours of actual 
schoolwork during each year. If a public school chooses to 
offer full-day kindergarten, it must provide 900 hours of 
schoolwork for at least 180 days.  [C.G.S. Sec. 10-15]

Q: Do schools provide school bus transportation for 
kindergarten?

A: There is no mandate by law for kindergarten students to 
receive transportation. The law requires schools to make a 
determination if the provision of transportation is reasonable 
and desirable in order to provide for the safety of the child 
based on the child’s age and condition.
 [C.G.S. Sec. 10-220(a) and Sec. 10-186]

Q: Can my child attend full-day kindergarten?

A: Yes, if the school that your child will attend provides 
full-day kindergarten for all children.

Q: Should I hold my child out of kindergarten even 
though my child is age-eligible?

A: The Connecticut State Department of Education 
strongly encourages parents to send their children to 
kindergarten when they are age-eligible: 5 years old on 
or before January 1 of any school year. 
 However, many parents consider withholding their 
child from kindergarten due to concerns that the 
kindergarten program may not be suitable; that their 
child may be among the youngest in the class or may 
not be “socially mature enough” for the experience; 
or that their child 
is not yet “ready 
for kindergarten.” 
Sometimes these 
concerns are 
expressed by staff 
members in the 
child’s preschool 
program. Please 
know, however, 
that all school 
districts are 
responsible for 
meeting the needs 
of all kindergarten 
students, 
regardless of their 
age or stage of 
development. 
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*C.G.S. refers to the Connecticut General Statutes


