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PURPOSE 

 

Per Section 10-221d of the Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) as amended by Public Act 09-

01 Section 8, candidates completing a planned program of preparation including clinical 

experiences in schools are required to submit to state and national criminal history background 

checks within 30 days of beginning such services.  

 

The purpose of this document is to provide guidance to higher education administrators and 

faculty of educator preparation programs, as well as, local or regional boards of education with 

regard to the requirements for criminal history background checks. 

 

It is important to understand that the Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) can 

conduct a review of the submission of criminal history background checks at any time.  It is the 

expectation of the CSDE that all educator preparation programs will be in compliance with this 

requirement.  If an educator preparation institution or organization is out of compliance with the 

criminal history background check requirements, it will be cited under program approval 

regulations. 

 

If you have any questions regarding criminal history background checks, please contact Kathleen 

DeFelice, Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification by e-mail at Kathleen.Defelice@ct.gov. 

 

 

C.G.S. SEC. 10-221d 

 

Sec. 10-221d of the C.G.S. as amended by Public Act 09-01, Section 8, requires that each local 

or regional board of education shall require each worker … “on and after July 1, 2010, in a non-

paid, non-certified position completing preparation requirements for the issuance of an educator 

certificate pursuant to chapter 166”… who performs a service directly involving student contact 

must submit to state and national criminal history background checks within 30 days from the 

date that the worker begins to perform such service.”   

 

In addition, if the local or regional board of education receives notice of a conviction of a crime 

by a person, on and after July 1, 2010, in a non-paid, non-certified position completing 

preparation requirements for the issuance of an educator, the local or regional board of 

education shall send such notice to the State Board of Education. 
 

The background checks must be completed in accordance with Sec. 29-17a of the C.G.S. through 

the Connecticut Department of Public Safety.  Background checks completed by private 

companies do not fulfill the requirements of the statute.   

 

SECTION 153 OF THE ADAM WALSH ACT OF 2006, P. L. 109-248 

 

The Adam Walsh Act sets forth the requirements for public or private elementary or secondary 

schools, local or state education agencies and child welfare agencies, as well as volunteers and 

contractors of such agencies, to submit fingerprints to the FBI and receive the results of the 

criminal record check.   

mailto:Kathleen.Defelice@ct.gov
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

 

Who needs to submit for the criminal history background check? 

 

Any candidate who has been formally admitted into a preparation program, completing preparation 

requirements for the issuance of an educator certificate including any clinical field experiences must 

complete a criminal history background check and fingerprinting.  Clinical experiences include 

field experiences, practica, student teaching, or internships. 

 

The criminal background check and fingerprinting requirement does apply to advanced program 

candidates (e.g., school psychologists, speech and language pathologists, administrators, social 

workers, etc.) who are not already certified.   However, if the advanced program candidate 

already has a valid Connecticut certificate, the Connecticut criminal background check is 

automatically conducted by the Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification through the State 

Police. 

 

The statute does not apply to students at a higher education institution who have not been/are not 

seeking admission to an educator preparation program, or are student volunteers (e.g., service 

learning, community service projects, completing requirements for other degree programs, etc.)  

 

Where do candidates need to go and how do they schedule a fingerprinting appointment? 

The candidate should be fingerprinted through the Regional Educational Service Center (RESC) 

in which the field and clinical experiences will take place so that a variety of the districts in that 

region will be able to confirm that the background check has been completed.  Fingerprinting by 

a local police department is NOT recommended because these prints will only be released to the 

public school in the town and can NOT be shared with other public school systems in other 

towns where a candidate may be placed.  

Requisition form:  each RESC may use a form to register the individual fingerprinted and require 

that the identification of the school districts where the fingerprinting information should be 

reported.  (A sample requisition form is located in Appendix A – page 2.) 

Scheduling fingerprinting at the RESC site:  candidates will need to schedule an appointment for 

fingerprinting services directly with one of the RESCs – listed on page 5.  Some RESCs use their 

website to schedule fingerprinting appointments.  Please check information on the RESC website 

listed on page 5. 

Fingerprinting on-campus:  colleges and universities may negotiate directly with the RESC to 

schedule on-site fingerprinting.  Fees for on-campus fingerprinting may be higher than those 

listed below for processing at the RESC site.  The college or university must schedule on-site 

fingerprinting directly with the RESC and negotiate the prices for on-site fingerprinting.  

Fees for fingerprinting:  fees are generally required to be paid with a money order or bank check, 

but each person should confirm the payment type required by each RESC, as the payment type 

varies at each site. 
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Reporting to districts:  candidates can indicate to which of districts the fingerprinting 

confirmation should go, if the district placement is known at the time of fingerprinting.   If the 

placement district(s) are not known at time of fingerprinting, check with the RESC to determine 

how fingerprinting confirmation can be reported to a district at a later date.  The RESCs have the 

authority to share the fingerprint results with local or regional boards of education and with other 

RESCs within Connecticut.  To have the RESC provide confirmation of fingerprinting to 

additional districts not identified at time of fingerprinting, the candidate should contact the RESC 

to make such requests in writing.  Please note there may be an additional fee for reporting at a 

later time; fingerprint reports will be available for a three (3) year period.  Candidates should be 

consistently advised that they need to schedule an appointment for fingerprinting well in advance 

of their date of placement.  Not showing up to a scheduled appointment may delay their ability to 

complete the required practicum, internship or student teaching. 

Listing of Regional Educational Service Centers (RESCs) and Contact Information 

RESC Location/ Phone For  

Appointment, 

Call 

Website 

ACES 350 State Street 

North Haven, CT 

06473 

203-498-6800 http://www.aces.org 

CREC 111 Charter Oak 

Avenue 

Hartford, CT  

06106 

860-524-4003 http://www.crec.org/fp/fingerprinting.php 

CES 40 Lindeman Drive  

Trumbull, CT 

06611 

203-365-8831 http://www.ces.k12.ct.us/page.cfm?p=2523  

EASTCONN 376 Hartford Turnpike 

Hampton, CT 

06247 

860-455-1550 http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com_co

ntent&view=article&id=89&Itemid=114  

Education 

Connection 

355 Goshen Road, 

P.O. Box 909,  

Litchfield, CT 

06759 

860-567-0863  

http://www.educationconnection.org/new/programs

/fingerprint.php 

LEARN 44 Hatchetts Hill 

Road 

Old Lyme, CT 

06371 

860-434-4800 

Ext 156 

http://www.learn.k12.ct.us 

 

What type of documentation will candidates need to present to get fingerprinted? 

 

A requisition form, the required payment and two (2) forms of identification including one photo 

identification  such as a student ID, passport, birth certificate and driver’s license. 

 

How long will the RESC, district, IHE need to wait before results are returned? 

 

Generally, it takes six to eight weeks for the background check to be completed and reported.  

FBI criminal background checks may take longer. 

 

http://www.aces.org/
http://www.crec.org/fp/fingerprinting.php
http://www.ces.k12.ct.us/page.cfm?p=2523
http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=89&Itemid=114
http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=89&Itemid=114
http://www.educationconnection.org/new/programs/fingerprint.php
http://www.educationconnection.org/new/programs/fingerprint.php
http://www.learn.k12.ct.us/
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After the fingerprints have been processed by the State Police and Federal Bureau of 

Investigations (FBI), and if the results show criminal conviction, the RESC will report the 

results to the school district and Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE).  
Please be aware that the RESC’s report to the CSDE does not eliminate the district’s 

responsibility to report criminal charges to the CSDE.  

 

The Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification will then contact the preparation institution 

or organization placing the candidate for clinical experience and may require evidence of due 

diligence in reviewing the candidate’s fitness to be admitted into the preparation program.   

 

Does the candidate need to wait for the results of the background check before commencing 

clinical experiences? 

 

The statute requires that the check be submitted within 30 days prior to the date the candidate 

begins the clinical experiences during a school year.  However, the preparation program should 

plan to have candidates fingerprinted at least 6-8 weeks prior to the commencement of the 

placement.  We recommend that the candidate complete the criminal background check at any of 

following general points in their enrollment at the institution or the professional education 

program leading to certification such as: 

 At time of application to the professional education program; 

 The semester before application to the professional program; or 

 The semester before the commencement of field or clinical experiences. 

 

 

Who is responsible for ensuring that employees subject to the requirements in the statute submit 

to a criminal history background check? 

 

The local or regional board of education is responsible for ensuring that preparation candidates 

receive the proper background checks within the timeframe described in the statute before those 

candidates commence placements in Connecticut public schools.  The IHE preparation program 

administrators (certification officers, dean or director of education) shall also be responsible for 

ensuring that the candidates have completed the fingerprinting process prior to assigning the 

candidate to complete the clinical experience.  The IHE educator preparation program dean 

or director should designate one person to be the liaison to the RESCs and the school 

districts and to candidates regarding the criminal background checks. 
 

What if the fingerprints are rejected and the candidate needs to be reprinted? 

 

When the candidate and the higher education institution are notified that the candidate needs to 

be re-fingerprinted, school districts will be copied on this notification.  Allowing extra time for 

fingerprinting to be processed prior to the commencement of the placement will be important in 

cases where the first set of fingerprints are rejected due to non-readability, requiring that the 

candidate be re-fingerprinted. 

 

What if the candidate is a substitute teacher or paraprofessional employed by a public school 

district? 
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If the candidate has been initially hired and checked by the public school district where the 

candidate is being placed, there is no need for an additional fingerprinting.  However, if the 

candidate has substituted in a district other than where the clinical or student teaching placements 

are going to occur, then the candidate must be fingerprinted again. 

 

 

 

How often must a candidate submit to a criminal history background check? 

 

Provided the candidate has maintained continuous enrollment, candidates must submit for 

criminal history background checks every three years, prior to commencing a placement (subject 

to district agreement).  
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CSDE Procedural Recommendations for Reviewing  

Educator Preparation Candidate Convictions 

 

Generally, a conviction does not, in and of itself, disqualify a person from teacher certification 

(except for convictions listed under the automatic denial statute – see section below on 

“automatic denials”).  Applications are reviewed on a case-by-case basis.   

 

The preparation institution should establish a process for review of conviction information for 

any candidate who “self-identifies” a conviction on an application (admission, student teaching, 

etc.) or if the educator preparation program has been notified that a candidate’s 

fingerprint/criminal background check resulted in confirmation of a conviction.  The new statute 

does not provide the CSDE with the authority to release the specific nature of the conviction to 

any institution/organization.  

 

The Connecticut State Department of Education uses the following statutory authority to guide 

the review and decision making process regarding eligibility. 

 

The CSDE recommends that the process include the following steps and requirements: 

 

1. Establish a review committee including faculty and administration, and if necessary 

university legal counsel.   

2. Once a candidate is identified as having a conviction record, a formal request should be 

made of the candidate to provide documentation in order to begin consideration for 

making a decision to admit, maintain admission/enrollment, or dismiss from the program:   
 

(a) a written explanation of the circumstances which led to the conviction(s) and 

an attestation that there are no further incidents;  

(b) an official court disposition for the conviction(s), or a letter from the Court 

Clerk indicating that no records are available (a photocopy is not acceptable);  

(c) verification by the appropriate state agency that all probation and/or 

community service requirements were successfully completed (if applicable); 

and  

(d) a minimum of three current letters of recommendation specifically addressing  

the candidate’s character, success as an educator and/or degree of 

rehabilitation.  These original letters must be signed and dated within the past 

three months and include the contact information for the signatories. 

 

3. If the candidate does not have an official record of the court documentation, he or she will need 

to: 

(a) contact the Court Clerk at the court house where the proceedings occurred and request the 

official court disposition for the case(s); or 

(b) contact the State Police in the state where the incident occurred and request the official 

records; or  

(c) contact the  appropriate RESC and arrange to have the official results sent to the 

institution; or  

(d) provide a written release authorizing the appropriate institution to directly obtain  

documentation from the RESC.   (We recommend that you work with legal counsel to 

develop a standard release form.)  
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4. In determining the candidate’s eligibility to continue in the program, the committee minimally 

should consider the statutory basis on which a certificate may be denied by the State Department 

of Education.  Each basis for review and denial of certification is described in detail below: 

 

(a) denial of certification; or 

(b) automatic denial; or 

(c) conviction of a crime (as a basis to deny certification) including nexus to the profession, 

rehabilitation of the crime and time elapsed since the conviction; or 

(d) other due and sufficient cause (based on the Code of Professional Responsibility for 

Educators – http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2613&q=321332); or  

(e) other institutional or preparation program standards including dispositions. 

 
5. The committee should make a recommendation to the Dean or Director of the education programs 

as to whether the candidate’s conviction is or is not grounds for dismissal from the program. 

 

6. The preparation program should render a formal decision, in writing.  It is advisable that this 

written notice to the candidate regarding enrollment status be reviewed by the university legal 

counsel. 

 
(a) DENIAL 

 

Section 10-145b(m) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides that the State Board of Education may 

deny an application for certification.  The reasons for denial may be any or all of the following reasons: 

 

(A)  the applicant seeks to obtain a certificate through fraud or misrepresentation of a 

material fact; 

(B)   the applicant has been convicted in a court of law of a crime involving moral turpitude 

or of any crime of such nature that in the opinion of the board issuance of a certificate 

would impair the standing of certificates issued by the board; or 

(C)   other due and sufficient cause. 

 

(b) AUTOMATIC DENIAL 

 

Section 10-145i of the Connecticut General Statutes, mandates that the State Board of Education not issue 

or reissue any certificate for conviction of one of the following crimes,  provided that the applicant 

completed serving the sentence for  such  conviction within five years of application for certification. 

 
Sec. 46b-120 A crime involving an act of child abuse or neglect  

Sec. 53a-54b Capitol Felony 

Sec. 53a-54d Arson Murder 

 Any Class A Felony 

 Any Class B Felony except violation of: 

 

Sec 53a-122  Larceny in the First Degree 

Sec. 53a-252 Computer Crime in the First Degree 

Sec. 53a-292 Vendor Fraud in the Second Degree 

 

Sec. 53-21 Injury or risk of injury to, or impairing morals of, children:  Class C felony 

Sec. 53-37a  Deprivation of a person's civil rights by person wearing mask or hood: Class D felony 

Sec. 53a-60b Assault of an elderly, blind, disabled, pregnant or mentally retarded person in the 

  Second degree:  Class D felony 

Sec. 533a-60c Assault of a victim sixty or older in the second degree with a firearm:  Class D felony 

Sec. 553a-71,  

Sec. 53a-72a,  

Sec. 53a-72b,  

http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2613&q=321332
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Sec. 53a-73a,  

Sec. 53a-88 Promoting prostitution in the third degree:  Class D felony 

Sec. 53a-99  Substitution of children: Class D felony 

Sec. 53a-103a  Burglary in the third degree with a firearm:  Class D felony 

Sec. 53a-181b Intimidation based on bigotry or bias:  Class D felony 

Sec. 53a-181c Stalking in the first degree:  Class D felony 

Sec. 53a-191 Incest: Class D felony 

Sec. 53a-196 Obscenity as to minors: Class D felony 

Sec. 53a- 196c Importing child pornography:  Class C felony 

Sec. 53a-216 Criminal use of firearm or electronic defense weapon:  Class D felony 

Sec. 53a-217b Possession of a weapon on school grounds:  Class D felony 

Sec. 21a-278 Penalty for illegal manufacture, distribution, sale, prescription or administration 

Section 21a-277 (a) Penalty for illegal manufacture, distribution, sale, prescription, dispensing 

  

 

(c)  CONVICTION OF A CRIME 

 

Consideration of whether to deny certification based on conviction of a crime must be based on the 

following statutory provisions: 

 

Section 46a-79 of the Connecticut General Statutes states in pertinent part: 

 

The general assembly finds that the public is best protected when criminal offenders are 

rehabilitated and returned to society prepared to take their places as productive citizens and that 

the ability of the returned offenders to find meaningful employment is directly related to their 

normal functioning in the community. 

 

Section 46a-80 of the Connecticut General Statutes states in pertinent part: 

 

(a)  notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, a person shall not be 

disqualified from employment by the state of Connecticut or any of its agencies, nor shall a 

person be disqualified to practice, pursue or engage in an occupation, trade, vocation, 

professional or business for which a license, permit, certificate or registration is required to be 

issued by the state of Connecticut or any of its agencies solely because of a prior conviction of 

a crime. 

 

(b)  a person may be denied a license, permit, certificate or registration to pursue, practice or 

engage in an occupation, trade, vocation, profession or business by reason of the prior 

conviction of a crime if after considering (1) the nature of the crime and its relationship to the 

job for which the person has applied; (2) information pertaining to the degree of rehabilitation 

of the convicted person; and (3) the time elapsed since the conviction or release, the state or 

any of its agencies determines that the applicant is not suitable for the position of employment 

sought or the specific occupation, trade, vocation, profession or business for which the license, 

permit, certificate or registration is sought. 

 

Therefore, before denying for conviction of a crime, other than automatic denial, the following must be 

addressed: 

 

(1) nexus - the nature of the crime and its relationship to the job for which the person has applied 

or will apply (i.e. education);  

(2) rehabilitation - the degree of rehabilitation of the convicted person;  and 

(3) time elapsed - the time elapsed since the conviction or release.  
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(d) OTHER DUE AND SUFFICIENT CAUSE 

 

Usually, denial for other due and sufficient cause will be based on a violation of the Code of Professional 

Responsibility for Educators.  (Note: new code was passed by the State Board of Education in March 

2010.) 

 

Any denial based on this code must state the specific section of the code which relates to the denial.  

 

(e) Other institutional or preparation program standards including dispositions 

 

An institution may use candidate competencies/standards established above and beyond state and 

national standards to determine if the candidate’s conviction is, or is not, grounds for dismissal from 

the program.
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CONNECTICUT STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 

Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification, 

Hartford, Connecticut 

 

 

To: Certification Officer 

  University  

 

From:   Nancy L. Pugliese, J.D., Chief  

Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification  

 

Date:    

 

RE:    Notice of criminal history record in accordance with Public Act 09-01, Section 8  

 

 

Pursuant to this statutory requirement, this Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification has 

been informed that the mandated criminal history record check indicates a record of 

conviction(s) for the following individual: 

 

 Name:    ______________________________________ 

 

 Date of Birth:   _______________________________________ 

 

 Disposition Date(s): ________________________________________ 

 (Approximate) 

 

 

If you have not already done so, you should contact this individual for an explanation of 

incident(s) and the official court disposition(s) for consideration in accordance with your 

institutions’ established educator disposition guidelines.  

 

If you have any questions, please contact the Kathleen DeFelice, Bureau of Educator Standards 

and Certification via email at kathleen.defelice@ct.gov . 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
REV 05/10  kd 

mailto:kathleen.defelice@ct.gov
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CONNECTICUT STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 

Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification,  

Hartford, Connecticut 

 

Notification of Conviction 

Candidates enrolled in Educator Preparation Programs 

 

Sec. 10-221d of the C.G.S. as amended by Public Act 09-01, Section 8, requires that each local 

or regional board of education shall require each worker … “on and after July 1, 2010, in a 

nonpaid, non-certified position completing preparation requirements for the issuance of an 

educator certificate pursuant to chapter 166”… who performs a service directly involving student 

contact must submit to state and national criminal history background checks within 30 days 

from the date that the worker begins to perform such service.”   

 

In addition, if the local or regional board of education receives notice of a conviction of a crime 

by a person, on and after July 1, 2010, in a nonpaid, noncertified position completing preparation 

requirements for the issuance of an educator, the local or regional board of education shall send 

such notice to the State Board of Education. 

 

The checks must be completed in accordance with Sec. 29-17a of the C.G.S. through the 

Connecticut Department of Public Safety.  Background checks completed by private companies 

do not fulfill the requirements of the statute.   

 

Please forward this notification sheet with a copy of the conviction notice to: 

 

Kathleen DeFelice, Education Consultant  

Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification  

P.O. Box 150471, Room 243 

Hartford, CT  06115-0471 

 

or via email at kathleen.defelice@ct.gov.   

 

Electronic notifications must include the notice of conviction and the institution where the 

candidate is enrolled.  

 

 

Candidate’s Name: _______________________________________________________ 

 

Institution where candidate is enrolled:  _______________________________________ 

 

Reporting RESC/School District:          _______________________________________ 

RESC/District Contact Person:              _______________________________________ 

 

Phone Number:                                       _______________________________________ 

 

mailto:kathleen.defelice@ct.gov
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House Bill No. 6901 

June 19 Special Session, Public Act No. 09-1 

 

AN ACT CONCERNING EDUCATOR CERTIFICATION AND PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT 

AND OTHER EDUCATION ISSUES.  

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened:  

Sec. 8. Section 10-221d of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof 

(Effective July 1, 2009):  

(a) [On and after July 1, 1994, each] Each local and regional board of education shall (1) require each 

applicant for a position in a public school to state whether such person has ever been convicted of a crime 

or whether criminal charges are pending against such person at the time of such person's application, (2) 

require, subject to the provisions of subsection (d) of this section, each person hired by the board after 

July 1, 1994, to submit to state and national criminal history records checks within thirty days from the 

date of employment and may require, subject to the provisions of subsection (d) of this section, any 

person hired prior to said date to submit to state and national criminal history records checks, and (3) 

require each worker (A) placed within a school under a public assistance employment program, [or] (B) 

employed by a provider of supplemental services pursuant to the No Child Left Behind Act, P. L. 107-

110, or (C) on and after July 1, 2010, in a nonpaid, noncertified position completing preparation 

requirements for the issuance of an educator certificate pursuant to chapter 166, who performs a service 

involving direct student contact to submit to state and national criminal history records checks within 

thirty days from the date such worker begins to perform such service. The criminal history records checks 

required by this subsection shall be conducted in accordance with section 29-17a. If the local or regional 

board of education receives notice of a conviction of a crime which has not previously been disclosed by 

such person to the board, the board may (i) terminate the contract of a certified employee, in accordance 

with the provisions of section 10-151, and (ii) dismiss a noncertified employee provided such employee is 

notified of the reason for such dismissal, is provided the opportunity to file with the board, in writing, any 

proper answer to such criminal conviction and a copy of the notice of such criminal conviction, the 

answer and the dismissal order are made a part of the records of the board. In addition, if the local or 

regional board of education receives notice of a conviction of a crime by a person (I) holding a certificate, 

authorization or permit issued by the State Board of Education, [or] (II) employed by a provider of 

supplemental services, or (III) on and after July 1, 2010, in a nonpaid, noncertified position completing 

preparation requirements for the issuance of an educator certificate pursuant to chapter 106, the local or 

regional board of education shall send such notice to the State Board of Education. The supervisory agent 

of a private school may require any applicant for a position in such school or any employee of such 

school to submit to state and national criminal history records checks in accordance with the procedures 

described in this subsection.  

(b) If a local or regional board of education, endowed or incorporated academy approved by the State 

Board of Education pursuant to section 10-34, or special education facility approved by the State Board of 

Education pursuant to section 10-76d requests, a regional educational service center shall arrange for the 

fingerprinting of any person required to submit to state and national criminal history records checks 

pursuant to this section or for conducting any other method of positive identification required by the State 

Police Bureau of Identification or the Federal Bureau of Investigation and shall forward such fingerprints 
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or other positive identifying information to the State Police Bureau of Identification which shall conduct 

criminal history records checks in accordance with section 29-17a. Such regional educational service 

centers shall provide the results of such checks to such local or regional board of education, endowed or 

incorporated academy or special education facility. Such regional educational service centers shall 

provide such results to any other local or regional board of education or regional educational service 

center upon the request of such person.  

(c) State and national criminal history records checks for substitute teachers completed within one year 

prior to the date of employment with a local or regional board of education and submitted to the 

employing board of education shall meet the requirements of subdivision (2) of subsection (a) of this 

section. A local or regional board of education shall not require substitute teachers to submit to state and 

national criminal history records checks pursuant to subdivision (2) of subsection (a) of this section if 

they are continuously employed by such local or regional board of education. For purposes of this section, 

substitute teachers shall be deemed to be continuously employed by a local or regional board of education 

if they are employed at least one day of each school year by such local or regional board of education.  

(d) (1) The provisions of this section shall not apply to a person required to submit to a criminal history 

records check pursuant to the provisions of subsection (d) of section 14-44.  

(2) The provisions of this section shall not apply to a student employed by the local or regional school 

district in which the student attends school.  

(3) The provisions of subsection (a) of this section requiring state and national criminal history records 

checks shall, at the discretion of a local or regional board of education, apply to a person employed by a 

local or regional board of education as a teacher for a noncredit adult class or adult education activity, as 

defined in section 10-67, who is not required to hold a teaching certificate pursuant to section 10-145b, as 

amended by this act, for his or her position.  

(e) The State Board of Education shall submit, periodically, a database of applicants for an initial issuance 

of certificate, authorization or permit pursuant to sections 10-144o to 10-149, inclusive, as amended by 

this act, to the State Police Bureau of Identification. The State Police Bureau of Identification shall 

conduct a state criminal history records check against such database and notify the State Board of 

Education of any such applicant who has a criminal conviction. The State Board of Education shall not 

issue a certificate, authorization or permit until it receives and evaluates the results of such check and may 

deny an application in accordance with the provisions of subsection [(m)] (j) of section 10-145b, as 

amended by this act.  

(f) The State Board of Education shall submit, periodically, a database of all persons who hold 

certificates, authorizations or permits to the State Police Bureau of Identification. The State Police Bureau 

of Identification shall conduct a state criminal history records check against such database and shall notify 

the State Board of Education of any such person who has a criminal conviction. The State Board of 

Education may revoke the certificate, authorization or permit of such person in accordance with the 

provisions of subsection [(m)] (j) of section 10-145b, as amended by this act. 

 



Appendix A 
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CONNECTICUT STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification 

 

Fingerprinting Requisition for Candidates in Educator Preparation Programs 
  

 

This requisition should be completed and presented at the time of appointment for fingerprinting at the Regional Educational Service 

Centers listed below.  Payment type for fees is generally required by money order or bank check (not personal check), but the 

candidate should confirm the type and amount of payment when scheduling an appointment.   

Fingerprinting on-campus:  Colleges and universities may negotiate directly with the RESC to schedule on-site fingerprinting.  Fees 

for on-campus fingerprinting may be higher than fees for processing at the RESC site.   The college or university must schedule on-

site fingerprinting directly with the RESC and negotiate the prices for on-site fingerprinting.  

RESC Location For 

Appointments, 

Call 

Website Directions 

ACES 350 State Street 

North Haven, CT 

06473 

203-498-6800 http://www.aces.k12.ct.us http://www.aces.org/directions/staff_ 

development.aspx 

CREC 111 Charter Oak Avenue 

Hartford, CT 

06106 

860-524-4003 http://www.crec.org/fp/fingerprinting.p

hp 
http://www.crec.org/crec/about/directions/crec_ 

central.htm 

CES 40 Lindeman Drive  

Trumbull, CT 

06611 

203-365-8831 http://www.ces.k12.ct.us/page.cfm?p=2

523  
http://www.ces.k12.ct.us/page.cfm?p=2668 

EASTCONN 376 Hartford Turnpike 

Hampton, CT 

06247 

860-455-1550 http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?opt

ion=com_content&view=article&id=89

&Itemid=114  

http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com 

_content&view=article&id=66&Itemid=79# 

Hampton 

Education 

Connection 

355 Goshen Road 

P.O. Box 909 

Litchfield, CT 

06759 

860-567-0863  

http://www.educationconnection.org/ne

w/programs/fingerprint.php 

http://www.educationconnection.org/new/directions/ 

directions.php  

LEARN 44 Hatchetts Hill Rd. 

Old Lyme, CT 

06371 

 

860-434-4800 

Ext. 156 

http://www.learn.k12.ct.us http://www.learn.k12.ct.us/contact/  

 

http://www.aces.k12.ct.us/
http://www.aces.org/directions/staff_%0bdevelopment.aspx
http://www.aces.org/directions/staff_%0bdevelopment.aspx
http://www.crec.org/fp/fingerprinting.php
http://www.crec.org/fp/fingerprinting.php
http://www.crec.org/crec/about/directions/crec_%0bcentral.htm
http://www.crec.org/crec/about/directions/crec_%0bcentral.htm
http://www.ces.k12.ct.us/page.cfm?p=2523
http://www.ces.k12.ct.us/page.cfm?p=2523
http://www.ces.k12.ct.us/page.cfm?p=2668
http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=89&Itemid=114
http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=89&Itemid=114
http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=89&Itemid=114
http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com%0b_content&view=article&id=66&Itemid=79#�Hampton
http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com%0b_content&view=article&id=66&Itemid=79#�Hampton
http://www.eastconn.org/index.php?option=com%0b_content&view=article&id=66&Itemid=79#�Hampton
http://www.educationconnection.org/new/programs/fingerprint.php
http://www.educationconnection.org/new/programs/fingerprint.php
http://www.educationconnection.org/new/directions/%0bdirections.php
http://www.educationconnection.org/new/directions/%0bdirections.php
http://www.learn.k12.ct.us/
http://www.learn.k12.ct.us/contact/


 

*By signing this requisition form, I am authorizing the RESC that is processing  

  my fingerprints to forward my fingerprinting confirmation/results to another RESC.                                 

2 

What to bring with you to the fingerprinting appointment: 

 

 This completed requisition form which will be validated, stamped or signed to confirm the date on which you were fingerprinted; 

 Two forms of identification including at least one picture identification such as a driver’s license, student ID, passport, social security, 

birth certificate, etc. 

 Payment in the form of money order or bank check in the amount required by the specific RESC.  Confirm the type and amount of 

payment when scheduling an appointment.  For on-campus fingerprinting, the institution will provide information on the fee for 

fingerprinting as it may be higher than fingerprinting at the RESC site. 

The RESC will process and forward your fingerprints and accompanying payment to the proper state and federal authorities for a criminal history 

background check, and notify:  (1) the identified district(s) where you want the results to be reported; and (2) the Connecticut State Department of 

Education, Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification, that you have been fingerprinted.  If a conviction/arrest is reported to the RESC, they 

will inform the identified district(s) and the Connecticut State Department of Education of the confirmed conviction/arrest information. 

 

Please arrive 5 minutes early to check-in with the receptionist.  Late arrivals are subject to rescheduling. 

 

 

 

 

 

Name (Please Print) 
 

Educator Preparation 

Institution or Program 

 

Address 
 

City, State, Zip 
 

Phone number 
 

Area of Certification 
 

School district(s) with 

accompanying address and 

phone number of 

Superintendent/HR Director 

where clinical placements 

will take place (or indicate 

region of the placements).   

 

 

 

 

Signature* 

 

Date 
 

  

CONFIRMATION OF FINGERPRINTING:  You may 

request, at the time of fingerprinting, a dated receipt to 

indicate that you have been fingerprinted.  Retain such 

information for your records.  The RESC will notify the 

districts regularly with the names of individuals who have 

been fingerprinted. 

Regional Educational Service 
Centers in Connecticut 


